Day 34- Inspiration on the wall.

Photo challenge Day 34.  On the wall.  In my house I try to keep inspiration on the walls.  Whether it’s art from an artist that I completely admire, a familiar heirloom from a person that I look/looked up to, or something incredibly unusual that inspires me to think and create, I decorate very eclectically and love to look at things that I just really love.  I obviously cannot post EVERYTHING that is on my walls (there is a lot), so I chose 2, one that made a bedroom look more like art and the other is my favorite piece of art that will always find a spot in my bedroom.

The first is a set of decals in my son’s room. Decals have become such a fad and maybe I got sucked in but you really can’t beat something that you like that you can just tear down if you start hating it.  I let him chose the color for his walls and he chose yellow, VERY yellow.  I then went on etsy and was searching and searching for something that didn’t look extremely juvenile but he would like. This is what I came up with. His walls are 15 feet so it took some patience putting these up and I am a perfectionist so it had to be done right! We call it the waterfall wall. It inspires me to keep being creative.

The next is an inherited print by Willard Stone from my grandparents.  This was the first picture that I chose from all of the art that they had collected.  I really just like it’s simplicity, symmetry, angle, emotion, and just everything about it.  Most of the art in my home is black and white (whether pencil, charcoal, even photographs) so it fits in very well. It inspires me to keep things a little simple, try to put a little emotion in my art, and create things from different angles.

Inspired by the walls.

sh

Leave a comment